星期四, September 17th, 2015 | 筆者:
  • 部分 1 – 簡介 – 設置簡單隊列 (這篇文章)
  • 部分 2 – 可靠識別交通 – 設置裂傷規則 (即將推出 TM)
  • 部分 3 – 優先級和限制 – 設置隊列樹 (即將推出 TM)
  • 部分 4 – Monitoring Usage – 重新定義隊列 – Limiting Abusive Devices (即將推出 TM)
  • 部分 5 – ??? 利潤 ???

簡介

The first problem one usually comes across after being tasked with improving an Internet connection is that the connection is overutilised. 通常情況下,沒有人知道為什麼, 誰, 或者是什麼原因造成的問題 – except of course everyone blames the ISP. 有時它是ISP – but typically you can’t prove that without having an alternative connection immediately available. I currently manage or help manage four “網站/樓宇” 即使用 服務質量 管理自己的互聯網連接. 一個是我的工作, two are home connections, and the last one is a slightly variable one – 通常只是一個家庭連接但也, for a weekend every few months, it becomes a 140-男人 (和成長) 局域網. 有趣. 🙂

的MikroTik RouterOS的和

的MikroTikRouterOS的 is very powerful in the right hands. Many other routers support QoS but not with the fine-grain control MikroTik provides. Alternatively you could utilise other Linux-based router OS’s, 例如 DD-WRT, 光面, 解開, 等等. 其中大部分通常需要你有一個備用服務器撒謊或兼容的硬件路由器. 的MikroTik銷售 RouterBoards 有RouterOS的內置 – 和它們相對便宜.

我與路由器的經驗,主要是與 思科 和的MikroTik – and my experience with QoS is primarily with Allot的NetEnforcer可以/ NetXplorer 系統的MikroTik. 在我的經驗中最流行的MikroTik設備 (比它們的專用遠程無線設備的其他) 是他們 rb750 (命名新版本 “(十六進制)“) 和 rb950-基於板. 他們有 許多人 可用並且相對便宜. 在與思科的高端設備歷史比較, 我傾向於描述的MikroTik的設備作為 “90% 在功能 10% 費用”. 由於本指南主要針對中小型企業/家庭使用的目的, 便宜更有意義. 如果你正在尋找得到一個的MikroTik設備, 注意的MikroTik路由器做 通常包括DSL調製解調器, 因此,現有的設備通常還是有必要的. 還需要注意的是,這是 在從頭開始建立的MikroTik設備教程. 有大量的指南可以在網上已經.

理論付諸實踐 – 第一步

要正確設置服務質量, 你需要有考慮以下策略的想法:

  • 總的連接速度
  • 有多少用戶/設備將使用該連接
  • 用戶/設備/服務/協議應優先用於延遲和/或吞吐量

為了實現上述的我的例子, 我將承擔以下:

  • 該的MikroTik設置了默認的網絡配置,其中本地網絡 192.168.88.0/24 並通過提供的互聯網連接 PPPoE協議.
  • 連接速度為10 / 2Mbps的 (10 Mbps的下載速度; 2 Mbps的上傳速度)
  • 會有 5 用戶與多達 15 設備 (多台電腦/平板電腦/手機/無線網絡等)
  • 典型的下載需要高優先級吞吐量,低優先級的延遲
  • 遊戲/ SKYPE /管理協議要求既延遲和吞吐量的高優先級
  • 沒有用戶要優先於其他

第一,可能是最快的一步是設置什麼的RouterOS是指作為 簡單隊列.

我做了一個簡短的腳本,我已經保存在我的MikroTik設備設置簡單的隊列. 它是如下:

:為從x 1 至 254 DO ={
 /隊列簡單的添加名="互聯網的用途區內─$ X" DST ="PPPoE協議" 最高限額= 1900K / 9500K目標="192.168.88.$x"
}

什麼上面確實是限制最高時速任何單個設備可用於 “1900ķ” (1.9MB) 上傳 “9500ķ” (9.5MB) 下載.

注意事項:

  • 之所以最大限制是在 95% 該生產線的最大速度的是,這種保證沒有任何一個設備可以完全餓死連接, 其他用戶造成負面影響. 對於較大的用戶群我將進一步加強該限制. 例如, 同 100 用戶在一個20MB的服務,我會盡量少設置此限制為15兆字節或甚至1Mb的. 這完全依賴於如何 “濫用的” 用戶是和, 因為你找出其中又有多少的情況也發生, 你可以適當調整它.
  • 前綴 “互聯網使用” 在名稱參數可以自定義. 通常,我將這些引用的處所名稱. 例如, 與樓宇命名 “阿爾法” 和 “公測”, 我通常會放 “互聯網-α” 和 “互聯網-β”. 這有助於站點之間本能區分.
  • DST的參數有 “PPPoE協議” 在示例. 這應該與名稱被取代 接口 提供Internet連接.

請確保您自定義腳本,可適當配置. 保存腳本到的MikroTik並運行它 – 或者直接粘貼到的MikroTik的終端來執行它.

在我的下一篇文章我將在建立什麼樣的RouterOS是指為 軋布 規則. 這些規則用於識別/分類的網絡流量,以使劃分更細的QoS可能.

分享
類別: 隨機  | 發表評論
星期四, September 17th, 2015 | 筆者:

隱私, 時刻, 錢財

我不喜歡借記訂單. 我從來都不喜歡另一實體的想法,, 隨意, 我的錢幾乎任何數量的 (良好 … 任何可用的). 一位同事指出的問題 MTN 本來是可以避免的我一直用的是借記卡付款單. 也許 “方便” 因素是不是一件壞事.

我想在這裡的倒數第二個問題是,你是否希望在方便性和可以信任的機構 (在這種情況下,你的錢) – 或者,如果你不能信任他們,都願意放棄這種便利. 在我的情況下,, 儘管我仍然質疑的方便, 我學到了艱辛的道路與MTN,這雙是不方便讓你的連接是天涯淪落 “偏遠的島嶼” 狀態. 幾乎每個人都今天去的便利因素.

便利

另一方面, 現在很久以前, 我有一個爭議 星球健身 方便的地方是把雙刃劍. 我報告了他們的經營實踐中,消費者投訴委員會 (由於重新組織為 全國消費者委員會) 並且從來沒有從他們的反饋. 問題的要點是,星球健身的銷售代理騙了我和一個朋友,以獲得更多的佣金/錢從我的口袋裡.

我是一個 發現生命力 件,它提供了許多好處, 其中包括降低利率的優質品牌 – 主要是與健康有關的課程, 如發現是一個醫療救助/健康保險提供商. 簡單地說, 發現是真棒. 活力的福利覆蓋的健身房會員資格,其中還包括Planet Fitness健身. 你還是要的東西, 各種各樣的小禮物, 至愉, 的健身房會員資格. 但, 畢竟, 他們希望我是健康的, 所以他們不介意立足點大部分法案. 但, 顯然地, 這意味著星球健身’ 銷售代理沒有得到佣金!

那麼,這是否會導致? 其結果是,PF的銷售代理給了我一個誇大的數字為 “基於活力” 會籍. 他撒了謊. 然後,他讓我簽的虛線為的一個誇張的價格 “定期” 會籍 (是的, 它實際上是多連一個普通的會員將花費), 結束了約 4 和 5 倍之多的活力,基於會員.

頓悟

一段時間 2011 ,我終於wisened了,我本來是要付出的成本. 發現我肯定不會太高興這次慘敗. 我跟經理人在健身房, 我保證,將取消整個合同. 我不是一個暴力的 … 除非其為運動 … 在一個八角 … 但經過我的第五訪問的經理問為什麼借記訂單仍然發生, 他告訴我,他很驚訝我沒有帶武器,與我的訪問. 經過幾次更多的訪問, 經理實際上已經離開了星球健身和解釋,我說, “合同” 在我和總部之間以及當地的體育館, 顯然特許經營式的操作, 已經幾乎沒有說關於它是否會被取消. 如果總部說沒有, 倒霉.

通過這一點,我已經失去了它. 我有我的銀行放 停止 以借記訂單. 這是一個巨大的拖帶: 我不得不每月與銀行聯繫,因為借記為了說明將永遠改變非常輕微. 它也花了我一點點每隔幾個月來 “恢復” 阻塞 服務. 我不禁想起了銀行系統的支持 正則表達式 但工作人員不一定知道如何使用它.

從技術上講,我仍然在等待的CCC要回我 (從來沒有發生過 – 當然,他們進行了重新組織上述這樣的情況下通過裂縫可能下降). 當然, 由點PF也想黑名單我不支付!

在意外的英雄

一個偶然提到的問題發現的 (我想,我叫他們關於牙醫訪問) 通過發現的代理商之一造成的在回調. 然後,他們問我,說明問題, 在細節和書面, 為更好地從我的角度解釋了什麼真的發生. 我不得不. 事實證明我是對的他們不被 “太開心了” 它. 事實上,他們 不喜歡. 約三週後, 星球健身退還我FULL對於曾經被支付給他們的所有款項.

發現是真棒. 🙂

分享
星期天, 8月4日, 2013 | 筆者:

我有一個停電影響到我的服務器的大型 MD RAID 排列. 而不是讓服務器作為一個整體將下降,而等待它完成 fsck的, 我曾用它來啟動無大陣,所以我可以手動運行fsck.

但, 手動運行時,我意識到我沒有辦法知道它在多大程度上是的,它需要多長時間才能完成. 這是如此大的陣列特別成問題. 隨著一點點搜索,我發現的尖端 調用fsck的時候添加-c參數. 我找不到這個文件中卻: fsck的 –幫助沒有表現出這樣的選項.

該選項原來是特定於ext4的, 從而顯示了一個百分比的指標一個功能完善的進度條. 要查找的信息, 而不是 “fsck的 –幫助” 或 “男人的fsck”, 你必須輸入 “使用fsck.ext4 –幫助” 或 “男子使用fsck.ext4”. 🙂

分享
星期天, 8月4日, 2013 | 筆者:

歷史

發生了許多變化,因為我上次提到的我 個人服務器 – 它已經發展的跨越式發展 (它現在有一個7TB MD RAID6) 它最近被重建 Ubuntu的 服務器.

從來沒有一個錯誤. Arch Linux的已經教了我這麼多關於Linux (並會繼續這樣做在我的其他桌面). 但拱肯定需要更多的時間和精力比我想在服務器上花費. 理想情況下,我寧願能夠忘掉了一段時間的服務器,直到電子郵件提醒說 “嗯 … 有一對夫婦的更新,你應該看看, 哥們兒。”

空間是不是免費的 – 既不是空間

機會遷移到Ubuntu是事實,我已經用完 SATA 端口, 所需的端口,以將硬盤驅動器連接到計算機的其餘部分 – 該7TB RAID陣列使用了大量的端口! 我什至放棄了我的 老200GB硬盤,因為它採取了這些端口之一. 我也警告收件人的磁盤 SMART 監測表明,它是不可靠的. 作為一個臨時的解決辦法缺乏的SATA端口, 我什至服務器的操作系統遷移到一組四個USB記憶棒的MD RAID1. 瘋狂的. 我知道. 我是不是太高興的速度. 我決定出去買一個新的可靠的硬盤驅動器和SATA擴展卡,用它去.

服務器的主拱約7GB的磁盤分區是使用. 一大塊,是一個 交換 文件, 緩存數據 和其他雜項或不必要的文件. 總體的實際大小的操作系統, 包括 /家 夾, 只有2GB. 這促使我尋找到超快速 SSD 驅動, 心想也許一個較小的一個,也許就不會那麼昂貴. 原來,最便宜的非固態硬盤驅動器,我能找到的實際成本 更多 比這些相對小的固態硬盤之一. 我耶. 🙂

精選? 哇?!

在選擇操作系統, 我已經決定了它不會是凱旋門. 出的所有其他流行的發行, 我最熟悉與Ubuntu CentOS的. Fedora的 也有可能 – 但我還沒有認真考慮它的服務器. Ubuntu的贏得了圓.

接下來我不得不做出的決定沒有想到我,直到 無處不在 (Ubuntu的安裝嚮導) ,我問它:: 如何設立 分區.

我是新人在Linux中使用固態硬盤 – 我很清楚,不正確地使用它們的陷阱, 主要是由於到他們差長壽風險,如果誤用.

我不想使用一個專用的交換分區. 我打算升級服務器主板/ CPU /內存不是太遙遠的將來. 在此基礎上,我決定把交換的交換文件在現有的MD RAID. 掉期不會特別快,但其唯一的目的是為這個難得的機會,當事情錯了,以及內存是不是.

這給我留下給 根路徑 出了一個完整的60GB 英特爾 330 SSD. 我認為分離/家,但它只是似乎有點毫無意義, 給出了如何很少有人在過去使用的. 我第一次設立分區 LVM – 我最近一直在做的,每當我設置一台Linux機器的東西 (真, 沒有任何藉口不使用LVM). 當它到達的部分,我將配置文件系統, 我點擊下拉,本能地選擇ext4的. 然後,我發現BTRFS在同一列表. 掛在!!

但是一個什麼?

Btrfs文件系統 (“黃油EFF-ESS”, “更好的效率ESS”, “蜜蜂樹EFF-ESS”, 在當天或任何你喜歡的) 是一個相對較新的文件系統,以使Linux的開發’ 與當前的文件系統技術文件系統功能回到正軌. 現有的大的山的文件系統, “轉” (當前版本的ext4) 很不錯 – 但它被限制, 停留在一個舊的範式 (想到一個全新的 F22猛禽 與. 一個 F4幻影 與半jested的企圖相當的升級) 並不太可能是很長的文件系統,如新企業能夠競爭 甲骨文的ZFS. Btrfs文件系統仍然有很長的路要走,仍處於實驗 (這取決於誰你問什麼,你需要的功能). 許多人認為它是穩定的基本使用 – 但沒有人會作出任何保證. 和, 當然, 大家都在說,製造和測試備份!

Mooooooo

最根本的區別分機和btrfs的是,BTRFS是一個 “牛” 或 “寫時複製” 文件系統. 這意味著數據的文件系統的內部實際上是從來沒有故意覆蓋. 如果你寫一個修改文件, btrfs將寫你的更改到新的位置在物理介質上,將更新內部指針指到新的位置. Btrfs文件系統更進了一步,這些內部指針 (被稱為元數據) 是 牛. 舊版本的分機簡單地覆蓋了數據. ext4的使用日誌,以確保不會發生腐敗的AC插頭在最不合時宜的時刻被抽出. 該雜誌的查詢結果類似數量的步驟中所需的更新數據. 隨著SSD, 不管你使用什麼樣的文件系統底層硬件的工作類似的牛過程. 這是因為SSD驅動器實際上並不能覆蓋數據 – 他們必須將數據複製 (你的變化) 到一個新的位置,然後完全擦除舊塊. 在這方面優化的SSD甚至可能不會刪除舊的塊,而是簡單地做了一張字條給擦除塊,在以後的時間時,事情並沒有這麼忙. 最終的結果是,固態硬盤驅動器非常適合與一頭牛文件系統,不執行,以及與非牛文件系統.

為了使事情有趣, 牛在文件系統中很容易齊頭並進一個功能叫做重複數據刪除. 這使得兩個 (或以上) 要被存儲的相同的數據塊只使用一個單一的副本, 節省空間. 與牛, 如果重複數據刪除的文件被修改, 修改後的文件的數據將被寫入到不同的物理塊,將不會受到影響單獨的雙床.

牛反過來又使 快照 相對容易實現的. 快照時,系統只記錄新的快照卷內的所有數據和元數據的重複. 與牛, 進行更改時,, 快照的數據保持不變, 文件系統的狀態,在製作快照的時間可以維持一個一致的看法.

新朋友

與上面記, 特別是Ubuntu已經BTRFS作為安裝時的選項, 我想這將是一個很好的時間潛入Btrfs和探索出一條小. 🙂

部分 2 即將推出 …

分享
星期一, 10月29日, 2012 | 筆者:

似乎, 在無限的智慧, 谷歌 有一個安全功能,可以阻止應用程序訪問或使用您的谷歌帳戶. 我可以看看谷歌的用戶,這可能是一個問題, 尤其是他們的 GTalk的Gmail的 用戶. 在我的情況下,它是 洋涇浜 有一個問題, 嘰里咕嚕 服務 (這是技術上的一部分,GTalk的). 後一點,我找到了解決辦法 . 我很驚訝於怎麼老問題是,這個功能已經存在多久!

要解除鎖定的帳戶,並在網上得到您的應用程序, 使用Google的驗證碼圖片頁面 這裡.

分享

Thursday, September 17th, 2015 | Author:
  • Part 1 – Introduction – Setting up Simple Queues (This post)
  • Part 2 – Reliably Identifying traffic – Setting up Mangle Rules (Coming Soon TM)
  • Part 3 – Priorities and Limits – Setting up Queue Trees (Coming Soon TM)
  • Part 4 – Monitoring Usage – Redefining Queues – Limiting Abusive Devices (Coming Soon TM)
  • Part 5 – ??? Profit ???


The first problem one usually comes across after being tasked with improving an Internet connection is that the connection is overutilised. Typically nobody knows why, who, or what is causing the problem – except of course everyone blames the ISP. Sometimes it is the ISP – but typically you can’t prove that without having an alternative connection immediately available. I currently manage or help manage four “sites/premises” that use QoS to manage their Internet connectivity. One is my workplace, two are home connections, and the last one is a slightly variable one – usually just a home connection but alternatively, for a weekend every few months, it becomes a 140-man (and growing) LAN. Fun. :)

MikroTik and RouterOS

MikroTik‘s RouterOS is very powerful in the right hands. Many other routers support QoS but not with the fine-grain control MikroTik provides. Alternatively you could utilise other Linux-based router OS’s, such as DD-WRT, Smoothwall, Untangle, and so forth. Most of these typically require that you have a spare server lying about or a compatible hardware router. Mikrotik sells RouterBoards that have RouterOS builtin – and they are relatively inexpensive.

My experience with routers is primarily with Cisco and MikroTik – and my experience with QoS is primarily with Allot’s NetEnforcer/NetXplorer systems and MikroTik. The most popular MikroTik devices in my experience (other than their dedicated long-range wireless devices) have been their rb750 (new version named “hEX“) and rb950-based boards. They have many others available and are relatively inexpensive. In historical comparison with Cisco’s premium devices, I’ve tended to describe MikroTik’s devices as “90% the features at 10% the cost”. As this guide is aimed primarily at SME/Home use, inexpensive makes more sense. If you’re looking at getting a MikroTik device, note that MikroTik routers do not typically include DSL modems, thus your existing equipment is typically still necessary. Note also that this is not a tutorial on setting up a MikroTik device from scratch. There are plenty of guides available online for that already.

Theory into practice – first steps

To set up QoS correctly, you need to have an idea of a policy that takes into account the following:

  • The overall connection speed
  • How many users/devices will be using the connection
  • The users/devices/services/protocols that should be prioritised for latency and/or throughput

To achieve the above in my examples, I will assume the following:

  • The MikroTik is set up with the default network configuration where the local network is and the Internet connection is provided via PPPoE.
  • The connection speed is 10/2Mbps (10 Mbps download speed; 2 Mbps upload speed)
  • There will be 5 users with as many as 15 devices (multiple computers/tablets/mobile phones/WiFi etc)
  • Typical downloads require high priority with throughput but low-priority with latency
  • Gaming/Skype/Administrative protocols require high priority with both latency and throughput
  • No users are to be prioritised over others

The first and probably quickest step is to set up what RouterOS refers to as a Simple Queue.

I’ve made a short script that I have saved on my MikroTik devices to set up the simple queues. It is as follows:

:for x from 1 to 254 do={
 /queue simple add name="internet-usage-$x" dst="pppoe" max-limit=1900k/9500k target="192.168.88.$x"

What the above does is limit the maximum speed any individual device can use to “1900k” (1.9Mb) upload and “9500k” (9.5Mb) download.


  • The reason why the max limits are at 95% of the line’s maximum speed is that this guarantees no single device can fully starve the connection, negatively affecting the other users. With a larger userbase I would enforce this limit further. For example, with 100 users on a 20Mb service I might set this limit to 15Mb or even as little as 1Mb. This is entirely dependent on how “abusive” the users are and, as you figure out where and how much abuse occurs, you can adjust it appropriately.
  • The prefix “internet-usage” in the name parameter can be customised. Typically I set these to refer to the premises name. For example, with premises named “alpha” and “beta”, I will typically put “internet-alpha” and “internet-beta”. This helps with instinctively differentiating between sites.
  • The dst parameter has “pppoe” in the example. This should be substituted with the name of the interface that provides the Internet connection.

Ensure you customise the script to be appropriate to your configuration. Save the script to the MikroTik and run it – or paste it directly into the MikroTik’s terminal to execute it.

In my next post I will go over setting up what RouterOS refers to as Mangle rules. These rules serve to identify/classify the network traffic in order to make finer-grained QoS possible.

Category: random  | Leave a Comment
Thursday, September 17th, 2015 | Author:

Privacy, Time, Money

I don’t like debit orders. I’ve never liked the idea that another entity can, at will, take almost any amount of my money (well … whatever’s available). A colleague pointed out the issue with MTN would have been avoided had I been using a debit order. Maybe the “convenience” factor isn’t such a bad thing.

I suppose the penultimate question here is whether or not you want the convenience and can trust institutions (in this case with your money) – or if you can’t trust them and are willing to forgo that convenience. In my case, even though I still question the convenience, I learned the hard way with MTN that it doubly can be inconvenient to have your connected world reduced to “remote island” status. Almost everyone today goes with the convenience factor.


On the other hand, now a long time ago, I had a dispute with Planet Fitness where convenience was a double-edged sword. I reported their business practice to the Consumer Complaints Commission (since re-organised as the National Consumer Commission) and never got feedback from them. The gist of the issue is that Planet Fitness’s sales agent lied to me and a friend in order to get more commission/money out of my pocket.

I’m a Discovery Vitality member which gives many benefits, including reduced rates on Premium brands – mostly health-related of course, as Discovery is a Medical Aid/Health Insurance provider. To put it simply, Discovery is awesome. Vitality’s benefits cover gym memberships which further includes Planet Fitness. You still have to pay something, a small token of sorts, to Discovery, for the gym membership. But, after all, they WANT me to be healthy, so they don’t mind footing the bulk of the bill. But, apparently, this means Planet Fitness’ sales agents don’t get the commission!

So what does this result in? The result is that PF’s sales agent gave me an inflated figure for a “Vitality-based” membership. He lied. He then had me sign on the dotted line for an inflated price of a “regular” membership (yes, it was actually more than even a regular membership would have cost), ending up about 4 and 5 times as much as the Vitality-based membership.


Some time in 2011 I finally wisened up to the costs I was supposed to be paying. Discovery I am sure wouldn’t be too happy about this fiasco. I spoke to the Manager at the gym, and I was assured that the entire contract would be scrapped. I’m not one for violence … unless its for sport … in an Octagon … but after my 5th visit to the Manager to ask why the Debit Orders were still happening, he told me he was surprised I hadn’t brought weapons with me for the visit. After a few more visits, the Manager had actually left Planet Fitness and explained to me that the “contract” was between myself and Head Office and that the local gym, apparently a franchise-style operation, had little to no say about whether or not it could be cancelled. If Head Office said no, tough luck.

By this point I’d lost it. I had my bank put a stop to the debit orders. It was a huge schlep: I had to contact the bank every month because the debit order descriptions would change ever so slightly. It also cost me a little every couple of months to “reinstate” the blocking service. I can’t help but think the banking system supports regular expressions but the staff don’t necessarily know how to use it.

Technically I’m still waiting on the CCC to get back to me (never happened – and of course they were re-organised as mentioned above so the case probably fell through the cracks). Of course, by that point PF also wanted to blacklist me for not paying!

The Unexpected Hero

A haphazard mention of the issue to Discovery (I think I called them about a dentist visit) resulted in a callback by one of Discovery’s agents. They then asked me to describe the problem, in detail and in writing, to better explain from my perspective what had really happened. I obliged. It turns out I was right about them not being “too happy” about it. In fact they really didn’t like it. About three weeks later, Planet Fitness refunded me in FULL for all monies that had ever been paid to them.

Discovery is Awesome. :)

Sunday, August 04th, 2013 | Author:

I had a power outage affect my server’s large md RAID array. Rather than let the server as a whole be down while waiting for it to complete an fsck, I had it boot without the large array so I could run the fsck manually.

However, when running it manually I realised I had no way of knowing how far it was and how long it would take to complete. This is especially problematic with such a large array. With a little searching  I found the tip of adding the -C parameter when calling fsck. I couldn’t find this in the documentation however: fsck –help showed no such option.

The option turns out to be ext4-specific, and thus shows a perfectly functional progress bar with a percentage indicator. To find the information, instead of “fsck –help” or “man fsck”, you have to input “fsck.ext4 –help” or “man fsck.ext4”. :)

Sunday, August 04th, 2013 | Author:


Much had changed since I last mentioned my personal server – it has grown by leaps and bounds (it now has a 7TB md RAID6) and it had recently been rebuilt with Ubuntu Server.

Arch was never a mistake. Arch Linux had already taught me so much about Linux (and will continue to do so on my other desktop). But Arch definitely requires more time and attention than I would like to spend on a server. Ideally I’d prefer to be able to forget about the server for a while until a reminder email says “um … there’s a couple updates you should look at, buddy.”

Space isn’t free – and neither is space

The opportunity to migrate to Ubuntu was the fact that I had run out of SATA ports, the ports required to connect hard drives to the rest of the computer – that 7TB RAID array uses a lot of ports! I had even given away my very old 200GB hard disk as it took up one of those ports. I also warned the recipient that the disk’s SMART monitoring indicated it was unreliable. As a temporary workaround to the lack of SATA ports, I had even migrated the server’s OS to a set of four USB sticks in an md RAID1. Crazy. I know. I wasn’t too happy about the speed. I decided to go out and buy a new reliable hard drive and a SATA expansion card to go with it.

The server’s primary Arch partition was using about 7GB of disk. A big chunk of that was a swap file, cached data and otherwise miscellaneous or unnecessary files. Overall the actual size of the OS, including the /home folder, was only about 2GB. This prompted me to look into a super-fast SSD drive, thinking perhaps a smaller one might not be so expensive. It turned out that the cheapest non-SSD drive I could find actually cost more than one of these relatively small SSDs. Yay for me. :)

Choice? Woah?!

In choosing the OS, I’d already decided it wouldn’t be Arch. Out of all the other popular distributions, I’m most familiar with Ubuntu and CentOS. Fedora was also a possibility – but I hadn’t seriously yet considered it for a server. Ubuntu won the round.

The next decision I had to make didn’t occur to me until Ubiquity (Ubuntu’s installation wizard) asked it of me: How to set up the partitions.

I was new to using SSDs in Linux – I’m well aware of the pitfalls of not using them correctly, mostly due to their risk of poor longevity if misused.

I didn’t want to use a dedicated swap partition. I plan on upgrading the server’s motherboard/CPU/memory not too far in the future. Based on that I decided I will put swap into a swap file on the existing md RAID. The swap won’t be particularly fast but its only purpose will be for that rare occasion when something’s gone wrong and the memory isn’t available.

This then left me to give the root path the full 60GB out of an Intel 330 SSD. I considered separating /home but it just seemed a little pointless, given how little was used in the past. I first set up the partition with LVM – something I’ve recently been doing whenever I set up a Linux box (really, there’s no excuse not to use LVM). When it got to the part where I would configure the filesystem, I clicked the drop-down and instinctively selected ext4. Then I noticed btrfs in the same list. Hang on!!

But a what?

Btrfs (“butter-eff-ess”, “better-eff-ess”, “bee-tree-eff-ess”, or whatever you fancy on the day) is a relatively new filesystem developed in order to bring Linux’ filesystem capabilities back on track with current filesystem tech. The existing King-of-the-Hill filesystem, “ext” (the current version called ext4) is pretty good – but it is limited, stuck in an old paradigm (think of a brand new F22 Raptor vs. an F4 Phantom with a half-jested attempt at an equivalency upgrade) and is unlikely to be able to compete for very long with newer Enterprise filesystems such as Oracle’s ZFS. Btrfs still has a long way to go and is still considered experimental (depending on who you ask and what features you need). Many consider it to be stable for basic use – but nobody is going to make any guarantees. And, of course, everyone is saying to make and test backups!


The most fundamental difference between ext and btrfs is that btrfs is a “CoW” or “Copy on Write” filesystem. This means that data is never actually deliberately overwritten by the filesystem’s internals. If you write a change to a file, btrfs will write your changes to a new location on physical media and will update the internal pointers to refer to the new location. Btrfs goes a step further in that those internal pointers (referred to as metadata) are also CoW. Older versions of ext would have simply overwritten the data. Ext4 would use a Journal to ensure that corruption won’t occur should the AC plug be yanked out at the most inopportune moment. The journal results in a similar number of steps required to update data. With an SSD, the underlying hardware operates a similar CoW process no matter what filesystem you’re using. This is because SSD drives cannot actually overwrite data – they have to copy the data (with your changes) to a new location and then erase the old block entirely. An optimisation in this area is that an SSD might not even erase the old block but rather simply make a note to erase the block at a later time when things aren’t so busy. The end result is that SSD drives fit very well with a CoW filesystem and don’t perform as well with non-CoW filesystems.

To make matters interesting, CoW in the filesystem easily goes hand in hand with a feature called deduplication. This allows two (or more) identical blocks of data to be stored using only a single copy, saving space. With CoW, if a deduplicated file is modified, the separate twin won’t be affected as the modified file’s data will have been written to a different physical block.

CoW in turn makes snapshotting relatively easy to implement. When a snapshot is made the system merely records the new snapshot as being a duplication of all data and metadata within the volume. With CoW, when changes are made, the snapshot’s data stays intact, and a consistent view of the filesystem’s status at the time the snapshot was made can be maintained.

A new friend

With the above in mind, especially as Ubuntu has made btrfs available as an install-time option, I figured it would be a good time to dive into btrfs and explore a little. :)

Part 2 coming soon …

Monday, October 29th, 2012 | Author:

It appears that, in infinite wisdom, Google have a security feature that can block an application from accessing or using your google account. I can see how this might be a problem for Google’s users, in particular their GTalk and Gmail users. In my case it was Pidgin having an issue with the Jabber service (which is technically part of GTalk). I found the solution after a little digging. I was surprised at how old the issue was and how long this feature has existed!

To unlock the account and get your application online, use Google’s Captcha page here.