الخميس, September 17th, 2015 | مؤلف:
  • جزء 1 – تقديم – إعداد قوائم انتظار بسيطة (هذا المنصب)
  • جزء 2 – تحديد موثوق المرور – إنشاء قواعد فسد (قريبا TM)
  • جزء 3 – الأولويات وحدود – إنشاء قائمة انتظار الأشجار (قريبا TM)
  • جزء 4 – Monitoring Usage – إعادة تعريف قوائم الانتظار – Limiting Abusive Devices (قريبا TM)
  • جزء 5 – ??? ربح ???

تقديم

The first problem one usually comes across after being tasked with improving an Internet connection is that the connection is overutilised. عادة لا أحد يعرف لماذا, الذي, أو ما هو الذي يسبب المشكلة – except of course everyone blames the ISP. أحيانا يكون هو ISP – but typically you can’t prove that without having an alternative connection immediately available. I currently manage or help manage four “مواقع / أماكن العمل” أن استخدام جودة الخدمة لإدارة الاتصال بالإنترنت الخاصة. واحد هو مكان عملي, two are home connections, and the last one is a slightly variable one – عادة مجرد اتصال ولكن بدلا من ذلك المنزل, for a weekend every few months, it becomes a 140-رجل (ومتنامية) LAN. لهو. 🙂

مايكروتك RouterOS و

مايكروتكالصورة RouterOS is very powerful in the right hands. Many other routers support QoS but not with the fine-grain control MikroTik provides. Alternatively you could utilise other Linux-based router OS’s, مثل DD-WRT, Smoothwall, فك, وهكذا دواليك. معظم هذه عادة ما تتطلب أن يكون لديك خادم الفراغ الكذب أو جهاز توجيه الأجهزة المتوافقة. مايكروتك تبيع RouterBoards التي لديها RouterOS مدمج – وأنها غير مكلفة نسبيا.

تجربتي مع أجهزة التوجيه في المقام الأول مع سيسكو ومايكروتك – and my experience with QoS is primarily with تخصيص لNetEnforcer / NetXplorer نظم ومايكروتك. الأجهزة الأكثر شعبية مايكروتك في تجربتي (بخلاف الأجهزة اللاسلكية بعيدة المدى مخصصة لها) يكون مطلبهم rb750 (إصدار جديد اسمه “عرافة“) و rb950-لوحات مقرها. لديهم آخرين كثر available and are relatively inexpensive. In historical comparison with Cisco’s premium devices, لقد تميل لوصف الأجهزة مايكروتك كما “90% الميزات في 10% التكلفة”. كما يهدف هذا الدليل في المقام الأول على المشاريع الصغيرة والمتوسطة / استخدام الصفحة الرئيسية, inexpensive makes more sense. If you’re looking at getting a MikroTik device, لاحظ أن أجهزة التوجيه مايكروتك تفعل ليس typically include DSL modems, هكذا المعدات الموجودة لديك لا تزال عادة اللازمة. لاحظ أيضا أن هذا هو ليس تعليمي عن إنشاء جهاز مايكروتك من الصفر. هناك الكثير من الأدلة المتاحة عبر الإنترنت لأنه بالفعل.

النظرية إلى الممارسة – الخطوات الأولى

لإعداد جودة الخدمة بشكل صحيح, you need to have an idea of a policy that takes into account the following:

  • سرعة الاتصال الشاملة
  • عدد المستخدمين / سيتم الأجهزة التي تستخدم اتصال
  • The users/devices/services/protocols that should be prioritised for latency and/or throughput

لتحقيق ما تقدم في الأمثلة بلدي, وسوف تتحمل التالية:

  • تم تعيين مايكروتك مع تكوين الشبكة الافتراضية حيث الشبكة المحلية 192.168.88.0/24 ويتم توفير الاتصال بالإنترنت عبر PPPOE.
  • سرعة الاتصال 10 / 2Mbps (10 ميغابت في الثانية سرعة التحميل; 2 ميغابت في الثانية سرعة تحميل)
  • سوف يكون هناك 5 المستخدمين مع اكبر عدد ممكن 15 الأجهزة (أجهزة كمبيوتر متعددة / أقراص / الهواتف المحمولة / واي فاي الخ)
  • التحميلات نموذجية تتطلب أولوية عالية الإنتاجية ولكن ذات الأولوية المنخفضة مع الكمون
  • Gaming/Skype/Administrative protocols require high priority with both latency and throughput
  • أي مستخدم أن تكون الأولوية على غيرها

The first and probably quickest step is to set up what RouterOS refers to as a قائمة انتظار بسيط.

لقد قدمت برنامج نصي قصير بأنني المحفوظة على أجهزة مايكروتك بلدي لإعداد قوائم الانتظار بسيطة. هو كما يلي:

:ل x من 1 ل 254 دو ={
 /قائمة الانتظار بسيط اسم الوظيفة ="الانترنت-usage- $ س" DST ="PPPOE" أقصى حد = 1900k / 9500k الهدف ="192.168.88.$س"
}

ما ورد أعلاه يفعله هو الحد الأقصى للسرعة أي جهاز فردي يمكن استخدامها ل “1900ك” (1.9ميغابايت) تحميل و “9500ك” (9.5ميغابايت) حمل.

ملاحظات:

  • السبب حدود قصوى هي في 95% of the line’s maximum speed is that this guarantees no single device can fully starve the connection, negatively affecting the other users. With a larger userbase I would enforce this limit further. مثلا, مع 100 المستخدمين على خدمة 20MB أنني قد تعيين هذا الحد إلى 15MB أو حتى قليلا ف 1mb. هذا يعتمد كليا على كيفية “مسيئة” المستخدمين هم و, كما يمكنك معرفة أين وكيف يحدث الكثير من سوء المعاملة, you can adjust it appropriately.
  • البادئة “الانترنت-الاستخدام” في المعلمة اسم يمكن تخصيص. عادة أنا وضعت هذه للإشارة إلى الاسم المباني. مثلا, with premises named “ألفا” و “بيتا”, سوف أضع عادة “الانترنت ألفا” و “الانترنت بيتا”. هذا يساعد على التفريق غريزي بين المواقع.
  • المعلمة DST ديها “PPPOE” في المثال. وهذا ينبغي أن تكون بديلا مع اسم السطح البيني that provides the Internet connection.

تأكد من تخصيص البرنامج النصي ليكون مناسبا لتكوين الخاصة بك. حفظ البرنامج النصي للمايكروتك وتشغيله – أو لصقه مباشرة في محطة للمايكروتك لتنفيذه.

In my next post I will go over setting up what RouterOS refers to as فسد قواعد. هذه القواعد تعمل على تحديد / تصنيف حركة مرور الشبكة من أجل جعل جودة الخدمة الحبيبات الدقيقة ممكن.

شارك
الخميس, September 17th, 2015 | مؤلف:

الخصوصية, مرة, نقود

أنا لا أحب أوامر الخصم. لم أحب ابدا فكرة أن كيان آخر يمكن, سوف في, اتخاذ تقريبا أي مبلغ من المال بلدي (جيد … كل ما هو متاح). وأشار الزميل إلى هذه المسألة مع MTN كان من الممكن تجنبها كنت قد تم استخدام نظام الخصم. ربما “ملاءمة” عامل ليس هذا شيئا سيئا.

أعتقد أن السؤال قبل الأخير هنا هو ما إذا كان أو لا تريد الراحة ويمكن الوثوق بها المؤسسات (في هذه الحالة مع أموالك) – أو إذا لم تتمكن من نثق بهم، ونحن مستعدون للتخلي عن الراحة التي. في حالتي, على الرغم من أنني لا تزال مسألة راحة, تعلمت بالطريقة الصعبة مع MTN أنه مضاعف يمكن أن يكون غير مريح أن يكون العالم الذي تعيشون فيه المتصل تخفيض ل “بعد الجزيرة” حالة. الجميع اليوم تقريبا يذهب مع عامل الراحة.

ملاءمة

من ناحية أخرى, الآن منذ زمن طويل, I had a dispute with الكوكب اللياقة البدنية حيث كانت الراحة سيف ذو حدين. أبلغت ممارسة أعمالهم إلى لجنة الشكاوى المستهلك (منذ إعادة تنظيمها مثل اللجنة الوطنية لحماية المستهلك) and never got feedback from them. The gist of the issue is that Planet Fitness’s sales agent lied to me and a friend in order to get more commission/money out of my pocket.

أنا اكتشاف حيوية الأعضاء التي تعطي فوائد كثيرة, بما في ذلك معدلات تخفيض على أصناف الدرجة الأولى – معظمهم بطبيعة الحال ذات الصلة بالصحة, as Discovery is a Medical Aid/Health Insurance provider. وببساطة, اكتشاف رائع. فوائد حيوية وتغطي الصالة الرياضية التي تضم عضوية مزيد من اللياقة البدنية كوكب. You still have to pay something, عربون صغيرة من نوع, لديسكفري, لعضوية الصالة الرياضية. لكن, بعد كل شيء, انهم يريدون مني أن تكون صحية, so they don’t mind footing the bulk of the bill. لكن, كما يبدو, وهذا يعني كوكب اللياقة البدنية’ وكلاء المبيعات لا تحصل على عمولة!

فماذا هذه النتيجة في? والنتيجة هي أن PF مبيعات الوكيل أعطاني الرقم مبالغ ل “حيوية قائمة على” عضوية. كذب. ثم كان لي التوقيع على خط منقط لأسعار مبالغ ل “منتظم” عضوية (نعم, كان في الواقع أكثر مما كان عليه حتى أن عضوية العادية يكون التكلفة), ending up about 4 و 5 أضعاف عضوية القائم على حيوية.

الطقوس

Some time in 2011 I wisened أخيرا إلى تكاليف كان من المفترض أن يكون دفع. اكتشاف وأنا واثق لن يكون سعيدا جدا عن هذا الفشل الذريع. لقد تحدثت إلى مدير في الصالة الرياضية, وأكد لي أنه سيتم إلغاء العقد بأكمله. أنا لست واحدا للعنف … إلا من أجل الرياضة … في المثمن … ولكن بعد زيارتي 5 إلى مدير أن نسأل لماذا تم الخصم على الطلبيات يزال يحدث, قال لي انه فوجئ أني لم أحضر معي أسلحة للزيارة. بعد بضعة مرة, وكان مدير يقم فعلا كوكب اللياقة البدنية، وأوضح لي أن “عقد” was between myself and Head Office and that the local gym, على ما يبدو عملية على غرار امتياز, كان قليلا ليقول لا حول ما إذا كان أو لا يمكن إلغاؤه. إذا قال مكتب رئيس لا, الحظ صعبة.

By this point I’d lost it. I had my bank put a توقف لأوامر السحب. It was a huge schlep: I had to contact the bank every month because the debit order descriptions would change ever so slightly. It also cost me a little every couple of months to “إعادة” the blocking خدمة. لا يسعني إلا أن أفكر يدعم النظام المصرفي التعابير العادية ولكن الموظفين لا يعرفون بالضرورة كيفية استخدامها.

Technically I’m still waiting on the CCC to get back to me (لم يحدث أبدا – وبالطبع كانت إعادة تنظيم على النحو المذكور أعلاه وبالتالي فإن القضية ربما انخفض من خلال الشقوق). بالطبع, عند تلك النقطة أراد PF أيضا إلى القائمة السوداء لي لعدم دفع!

بطل غير متوقع

وذكر العشوائي لهذه القضية إلى اكتشاف (أعتقد دعوت لهم حول زيارة طبيب الأسنان) أدى إلى رد من قبل أحد وكلاء ديسكفري. ثم طلبوا مني لوصف المشكلة, في التفاصيل، وكتابة, لشرح أفضل من وجهة نظري ما حدث حقا. أنا مضطرة. اتضح أنني كنت على حق حول لهم عدم “سعيدة جدا” حوله. في واقع الأمر حقا لم ترغب في ذلك. About three weeks later, الكوكب للياقة ردها لي في كامل لجميع الأموال التي سبق أن دفعها لهم.

اكتشاف رائع. 🙂

شارك
الأحد, 4 أغسطس, 2013 | مؤلف:

كان لدي انقطاع التيار الكهربائي يؤثر على خدمة بلدي الكبيرة MD RAID مجموعة. بدلا من السماح للخادم ككل تكون أسفل في حين ينتظر لإكمال FSCK, أنا لو كان ذلك الحذاء دون مجموعة كبيرة حتى أتمكن من تشغيل FSCK يدويا.

لكن, عند تشغيله يدويا أدركت لم يكن لدي أي وسيلة لمعرفة مدى كان وكيف من الوقت سيستغرق لإتمام. وهذه مشكلة خاصة مع مثل هذه مجموعة كبيرة. مع قليل من البحث وجدت غيض من إضافة C-المعلمة عند استدعاء FSCK. لم أتمكن من العثور على هذا في وثائق ولكن: FSCK –أظهر مساعدة لا يوجد مثل هذا الخيار.

يتحول الخيار إلى أن تكون محددة EXT4, وبالتالي يظهر شريط تقدم وظيفي تماما مع مؤشر نسبة. للعثور على المعلومات, بدلا من “FSCK –مساعدة” أو “رجل FSCK”, لديك لإدخال “fsck.ext4 –مساعدة” أو “رجل fsck.ext4”. 🙂

شارك
الأحد, 4 أغسطس, 2013 | مؤلف:

تاريخ

قد تتغير كثيرا منذ المرة الأخيرة التي ذكرها لي خادم الشخصية – وقد نمت على قدم وساق (أصبح لها 7TB MD RAID6) وكان قد تم بناؤه مؤخرا مع أوبونتو الخادم.

قوس لم يكن خطأ. قد قوس لينكس تدرس بالفعل لي الكثير عن لينكس (وسوف تواصل القيام بذلك على سطح المكتب الأخرى). لكن قوس يتطلب بالتأكيد المزيد من الوقت والاهتمام مما كنت أود أن تنفق في الخادم. مثالي كنت تفضل أن تكون قادرة على نسيان الخادم لفترة من الوقت حتى البريد الإلكتروني تذكير يقول “أم … هناك بضعة تحديثات يجب أن ننظر, الأصدقاء.”

الفضاء ليست حرة – وليس هو الفضاء

كانت فرصة للهجرة إلى أوبونتو حقيقة أنني قد نفد من SATA الموانئ, المنافذ المطلوبة لتوصيل محركات الأقراص الصلبة إلى بقية الكمبيوتر – أن مجموعة RAID 7TB يستخدم الكثير من الموانئ! حتى كنت قد قدمت بعيدا بلدي جدا القديم على القرص الصلب 200GB بأنها أخذت واحدة من تلك الموانئ. أنا أيضا حذر المتلقي أن القرص سمارت وأشار الرصد كان غير موثوق بها. كحل مؤقت لعدم وجود منافذ SATA, حتى كنت قد هاجرت OS للملقم إلى مجموعة من أربعة عصي USB في MD RAID1. مجنون. وأنا أعلم. لم أكن سعيدا جدا حول سرعة. قررت الخروج وشراء جديدة في القرص الصلب يمكن الاعتماد عليها، وتوسيع بطاقة SATA للذهاب معها.

قسم العمارة الأولية للملقم تم استخدام حوالي 7GB من القرص. وكان جزء كبير من أن مبادلة ملف, البيانات المخزنة مؤقتا والملفات المتنوعة خلاف ذلك أو لا لزوم لها. عموما الحجم الفعلي للOS, بما في ذلك /منزل ملف, كان فقط حول 2GB. دفعني هذا للنظر في بسرعة فائقة SSD قيادة, التفكير ربما قد أصغر واحد لا تكون مكلفة جدا. واتضح أن أقل مسافة غير SSD يمكن أن تجد في الواقع من حيث التكلفة أكثر من واحد من هذه سواقات صغيرة نسبيا. ياي بالنسبة لي. 🙂

خيار? WOAH?!

في اختيار OS, فما استقاموا لكم فاستقيموا قررت بالفعل أنه لن يكون القوس. من جميع التوزيعات شعبية أخرى, أنا أكثر الناس دراية وأوبونتو CentOS. فيدورا كان أيضا إمكانية – لكنني لم تنظر بجدية إلا أنها لملقم. فاز أوبونتو الجولة.

وقال إن القرار التالي كان علي أن أتخذ لا يحدث لي حتى وجود الشىء في كل مكان (معالج التثبيت أوبونتو) طلبت مني: كيفية إعداد أقسام.

كنت جديدا على استخدام محركات الأقراص الصلبة في لينكس – أنا على علم جيد للمطبات عدم استخدامها بشكل صحيح, يرجع في معظمه إلى طول العمر من خطر الفقراء إذا ما أسيء استخدامها.

لم أكن أريد أن استخدام قسم مخصص المبادلة. أخطط على رفع مستوى اللوحة الأم للملقم / CPU / الذاكرة ليس بعيدا جدا في المستقبل. وبناء على ذلك قررت أنا سوف يضع المبادلة في ملف المبادلة على RAID الموجودة MD. سوف المبادلة لا تكون سريعة خاصة ولكن سوف الغرض منه فقط أن يكون لهذه المناسبة النادرة عندما يكون هناك شيء ذهب على نحو خاطئ، والذاكرة ليست متاحة.

هذا ثم ترك لي لإعطاء مسار الجذر و60GB الكامل للخروج من إنتل 330 SSD. فكرت فصل / الوطن لكن يبدو قليلا لا طائل, نظرا للكيفية التي استخدمت في الماضي قليلا. أنا أولا إعداد القسم مع LVM – شيء لقد تم مؤخرا القيام كلما أقوم بإعداد مربع لينكس (حقا, وليس هناك عذر لعدم استخدام LVM). عندما حصلت على الجزء حيث كنت تكوين نظام الملفات, أنا النقر على القائمة المنسدلة واختيار EXT4 غريزي. ثم لاحظت btrfs في نفس القائمة. تشبث!!

ولكن ما?

Btrfs (“الزبدة EFF-ESS”, “أفضل ممثل المؤسسة-ESS”, “النحل شجرة EFF-ESS”, أو ما كنت يتوهم في اليوم) هو نظام الملفات المتقدمة نسبيا جديدة من أجل تحقيق ينكس’ نظام الملفات القدرات إلى مسارها مع التكنولوجيا الحالية الملفات. الملك من بين الملفات الموجودة هيل, “تحويلة” (الإصدار الحالي دعا EXT4) هو جيد جدا – لكنه محدود, عالقا في النموذج القديم (التفكير في العلامة التجارية الجديدة F22 رابتور مباراة. على F4 فانتوم مع محاولة نصف منكت في ترقية معادلة) ومن غير المرجح أن تكون قادرة على المنافسة لفترة طويلة جدا وفقا لأحدث أنظمة الملفات مثل المؤسسة ZFS أوراكل. Btrfs لا يزال لديه طريق طويل لنقطعه، ويعتبر تزال تجريبية (اعتمادا على من تسأل وما الميزات التي تحتاج إليها). النظر في كثير من أن يكون مستقرا للاستخدام الأساسي – ولكن لا أحد هو الذهاب الى جعل أي ضمانات. و, بالطبع, الجميع يقول لجعل النسخ الاحتياطي واختبار!

Mooooooo

الفرق الأساسية بين تحويلة وbtrfs هو أن btrfs هو “بقرة” أو “نسخة على المشاركة” نظام الملفات. هذا يعني أن البيانات ليست ابدا في الواقع الكتابة عمدا من قبل نظام الملفات الداخلية لل. إذا كنت أكتب تغيير على الملف, btrfs سوف أكتب التغييرات الخاصة بك إلى موقع جديد على وسائط مادية وسيتم تحديث مؤشرات داخلية للإشارة إلى الموقع الجديد. Btrfs يذهب خطوة أبعد في أن تلك المؤشرات الداخلية (ويشار إلى البيانات الوصفية) هي أيضا بقرة. والإصدارات القديمة من تحويلة لديك الكتابة ببساطة البيانات. وEXT4 استخدام مجلة لضمان أن الفساد لن يحدث ينبغي أن تكون المكونات AC انتزع بها في لحظة غير مناسبة على الإطلاق. النتائج المجلة في عدد مماثل من الخطوات المطلوبة لتحديث البيانات. مع SSD, الأجهزة الأساسية تدير عملية بقرة مماثلة بغض النظر عن ما كنت تستخدم نظام الملفات. وذلك لأن محركات SSD لا يمكن الكتابة فوق البيانات في الواقع – لديهم لنسخ البيانات (مع التغييرات) إلى موقع جديد ثم محو كتلة القديمة تماما. أمثلية في هذا المجال هو أن SSD قد لا حتى محو كتلة القديمة بل ببساطة تقديم مذكرة لمحو كتلة في وقت لاحق عندما الأمور ليست مشغولا للغاية. والنتيجة النهائية هي أن محركات الأقراص SSD تناسب بشكل جيد للغاية مع نظام ملفات بقرة ولا تؤدي كذلك مع أنظمة الملفات غير بقرة.

لجعل الأمور مثيرة للاهتمام, بقرة في نظام الملفات بسهولة يذهب يدا بيد مع ميزة تسمى إلغاء البيانات المكررة. هذا يسمح اثنين (أو أكثر) ليتم تخزينها كتل مماثلة من البيانات باستخدام نسخة واحدة فقط, توفير مساحة. مع البقر, إذا تم تعديل ملف deduplicated, لن تتأثر التوأم منفصلة كما سيكون قد تم تعديل بيانات الملف المكتوب على كتلة مادية مختلفة.

هذا بدوره يجعل البقر snapshotting من السهل نسبيا لتنفيذ. عندما يتم لقطة يسجل النظام مجرد لقطة جديدة على أنها ازدواج جميع البيانات والبيانات الوصفية داخل وحدة التخزين. مع البقر, عند إجراء تغييرات, بيانات اللقطة ليبقى سليما, ويمكن الحفاظ على عرض ثابت من وضع الملفات في وقت وقدم لقطة.

صديق جديد

مع ما سبق في الاعتبار, خاصة جعلت أوبونتو btrfs متاحا كخيار تثبيت وقت, فكنت أحسب أنه سيكون وقتا طيبا ليغوص btrfs واستكشاف قليلا. 🙂

جزء 2 قريبا …

شارك
يوم الاثنين, 29 أكتوبر, 2012 | مؤلف:

يبدو أن, في الحكمة اللانهائية, جوجل لديها ميزة الأمان التي يمكن أن تسد الطلب من الوصول إلى أو استخدام حساب Google. أستطيع أن أرى كيف يمكن أن يكون مشكلة للمستخدمين جوجل, ولا سيما حالتها [غتلك و جوجل المستخدمين. في حالتي كان لغة مبسطة وجود مشكلة في هذرم خدمة (وهو من الناحية الفنية جزءا من [غتلك). لقد وجدت الحل بعد قليل حفر. وفوجئت في كيفية القديمة القضية كان ومتى وجدت هذه الميزة قد!

لفتح حساب والحصول على الانترنت الخاص بك التطبيق, استخدام كلمة التحقق صفحة جوجل هنا.

شارك

Thursday, September 17th, 2015 | Author:
  • Part 1 – Introduction – Setting up Simple Queues (This post)
  • Part 2 – Reliably Identifying traffic – Setting up Mangle Rules (Coming Soon TM)
  • Part 3 – Priorities and Limits – Setting up Queue Trees (Coming Soon TM)
  • Part 4 – Monitoring Usage – Redefining Queues – Limiting Abusive Devices (Coming Soon TM)
  • Part 5 – ??? Profit ???


The first problem one usually comes across after being tasked with improving an Internet connection is that the connection is overutilised. Typically nobody knows why, who, or what is causing the problem – except of course everyone blames the ISP. Sometimes it is the ISP – but typically you can’t prove that without having an alternative connection immediately available. I currently manage or help manage four “sites/premises” that use QoS to manage their Internet connectivity. One is my workplace, two are home connections, and the last one is a slightly variable one – usually just a home connection but alternatively, for a weekend every few months, it becomes a 140-man (and growing) LAN. Fun. :)

MikroTik and RouterOS

MikroTik‘s RouterOS is very powerful in the right hands. Many other routers support QoS but not with the fine-grain control MikroTik provides. Alternatively you could utilise other Linux-based router OS’s, such as DD-WRT, Smoothwall, Untangle, and so forth. Most of these typically require that you have a spare server lying about or a compatible hardware router. Mikrotik sells RouterBoards that have RouterOS builtin – and they are relatively inexpensive.

My experience with routers is primarily with Cisco and MikroTik – and my experience with QoS is primarily with Allot’s NetEnforcer/NetXplorer systems and MikroTik. The most popular MikroTik devices in my experience (other than their dedicated long-range wireless devices) have been their rb750 (new version named “hEX“) and rb950-based boards. They have many others available and are relatively inexpensive. In historical comparison with Cisco’s premium devices, I’ve tended to describe MikroTik’s devices as “90% the features at 10% the cost”. As this guide is aimed primarily at SME/Home use, inexpensive makes more sense. If you’re looking at getting a MikroTik device, note that MikroTik routers do not typically include DSL modems, thus your existing equipment is typically still necessary. Note also that this is not a tutorial on setting up a MikroTik device from scratch. There are plenty of guides available online for that already.

Theory into practice – first steps

To set up QoS correctly, you need to have an idea of a policy that takes into account the following:

  • The overall connection speed
  • How many users/devices will be using the connection
  • The users/devices/services/protocols that should be prioritised for latency and/or throughput

To achieve the above in my examples, I will assume the following:

  • The MikroTik is set up with the default network configuration where the local network is and the Internet connection is provided via PPPoE.
  • The connection speed is 10/2Mbps (10 Mbps download speed; 2 Mbps upload speed)
  • There will be 5 users with as many as 15 devices (multiple computers/tablets/mobile phones/WiFi etc)
  • Typical downloads require high priority with throughput but low-priority with latency
  • Gaming/Skype/Administrative protocols require high priority with both latency and throughput
  • No users are to be prioritised over others

The first and probably quickest step is to set up what RouterOS refers to as a Simple Queue.

I’ve made a short script that I have saved on my MikroTik devices to set up the simple queues. It is as follows:

:for x from 1 to 254 do={
 /queue simple add name="internet-usage-$x" dst="pppoe" max-limit=1900k/9500k target="192.168.88.$x"

What the above does is limit the maximum speed any individual device can use to “1900k” (1.9Mb) upload and “9500k” (9.5Mb) download.


  • The reason why the max limits are at 95% of the line’s maximum speed is that this guarantees no single device can fully starve the connection, negatively affecting the other users. With a larger userbase I would enforce this limit further. For example, with 100 users on a 20Mb service I might set this limit to 15Mb or even as little as 1Mb. This is entirely dependent on how “abusive” the users are and, as you figure out where and how much abuse occurs, you can adjust it appropriately.
  • The prefix “internet-usage” in the name parameter can be customised. Typically I set these to refer to the premises name. For example, with premises named “alpha” and “beta”, I will typically put “internet-alpha” and “internet-beta”. This helps with instinctively differentiating between sites.
  • The dst parameter has “pppoe” in the example. This should be substituted with the name of the interface that provides the Internet connection.

Ensure you customise the script to be appropriate to your configuration. Save the script to the MikroTik and run it – or paste it directly into the MikroTik’s terminal to execute it.

In my next post I will go over setting up what RouterOS refers to as Mangle rules. These rules serve to identify/classify the network traffic in order to make finer-grained QoS possible.

Category: random  | Leave a Comment
Thursday, September 17th, 2015 | Author:

Privacy, Time, Money

I don’t like debit orders. I’ve never liked the idea that another entity can, at will, take almost any amount of my money (well … whatever’s available). A colleague pointed out the issue with MTN would have been avoided had I been using a debit order. Maybe the “convenience” factor isn’t such a bad thing.

I suppose the penultimate question here is whether or not you want the convenience and can trust institutions (in this case with your money) – or if you can’t trust them and are willing to forgo that convenience. In my case, even though I still question the convenience, I learned the hard way with MTN that it doubly can be inconvenient to have your connected world reduced to “remote island” status. Almost everyone today goes with the convenience factor.


On the other hand, now a long time ago, I had a dispute with Planet Fitness where convenience was a double-edged sword. I reported their business practice to the Consumer Complaints Commission (since re-organised as the National Consumer Commission) and never got feedback from them. The gist of the issue is that Planet Fitness’s sales agent lied to me and a friend in order to get more commission/money out of my pocket.

I’m a Discovery Vitality member which gives many benefits, including reduced rates on Premium brands – mostly health-related of course, as Discovery is a Medical Aid/Health Insurance provider. To put it simply, Discovery is awesome. Vitality’s benefits cover gym memberships which further includes Planet Fitness. You still have to pay something, a small token of sorts, to Discovery, for the gym membership. But, after all, they WANT me to be healthy, so they don’t mind footing the bulk of the bill. But, apparently, this means Planet Fitness’ sales agents don’t get the commission!

So what does this result in? The result is that PF’s sales agent gave me an inflated figure for a “Vitality-based” membership. He lied. He then had me sign on the dotted line for an inflated price of a “regular” membership (yes, it was actually more than even a regular membership would have cost), ending up about 4 and 5 times as much as the Vitality-based membership.


Some time in 2011 I finally wisened up to the costs I was supposed to be paying. Discovery I am sure wouldn’t be too happy about this fiasco. I spoke to the Manager at the gym, and I was assured that the entire contract would be scrapped. I’m not one for violence … unless its for sport … in an Octagon … but after my 5th visit to the Manager to ask why the Debit Orders were still happening, he told me he was surprised I hadn’t brought weapons with me for the visit. After a few more visits, the Manager had actually left Planet Fitness and explained to me that the “contract” was between myself and Head Office and that the local gym, apparently a franchise-style operation, had little to no say about whether or not it could be cancelled. If Head Office said no, tough luck.

By this point I’d lost it. I had my bank put a stop to the debit orders. It was a huge schlep: I had to contact the bank every month because the debit order descriptions would change ever so slightly. It also cost me a little every couple of months to “reinstate” the blocking service. I can’t help but think the banking system supports regular expressions but the staff don’t necessarily know how to use it.

Technically I’m still waiting on the CCC to get back to me (never happened – and of course they were re-organised as mentioned above so the case probably fell through the cracks). Of course, by that point PF also wanted to blacklist me for not paying!

The Unexpected Hero

A haphazard mention of the issue to Discovery (I think I called them about a dentist visit) resulted in a callback by one of Discovery’s agents. They then asked me to describe the problem, in detail and in writing, to better explain from my perspective what had really happened. I obliged. It turns out I was right about them not being “too happy” about it. In fact they really didn’t like it. About three weeks later, Planet Fitness refunded me in FULL for all monies that had ever been paid to them.

Discovery is Awesome. :)

Sunday, August 04th, 2013 | Author:

I had a power outage affect my server’s large md RAID array. Rather than let the server as a whole be down while waiting for it to complete an fsck, I had it boot without the large array so I could run the fsck manually.

However, when running it manually I realised I had no way of knowing how far it was and how long it would take to complete. This is especially problematic with such a large array. With a little searching  I found the tip of adding the -C parameter when calling fsck. I couldn’t find this in the documentation however: fsck –help showed no such option.

The option turns out to be ext4-specific, and thus shows a perfectly functional progress bar with a percentage indicator. To find the information, instead of “fsck –help” or “man fsck”, you have to input “fsck.ext4 –help” or “man fsck.ext4”. :)

Sunday, August 04th, 2013 | Author:


Much had changed since I last mentioned my personal server – it has grown by leaps and bounds (it now has a 7TB md RAID6) and it had recently been rebuilt with Ubuntu Server.

Arch was never a mistake. Arch Linux had already taught me so much about Linux (and will continue to do so on my other desktop). But Arch definitely requires more time and attention than I would like to spend on a server. Ideally I’d prefer to be able to forget about the server for a while until a reminder email says “um … there’s a couple updates you should look at, buddy.”

Space isn’t free – and neither is space

The opportunity to migrate to Ubuntu was the fact that I had run out of SATA ports, the ports required to connect hard drives to the rest of the computer – that 7TB RAID array uses a lot of ports! I had even given away my very old 200GB hard disk as it took up one of those ports. I also warned the recipient that the disk’s SMART monitoring indicated it was unreliable. As a temporary workaround to the lack of SATA ports, I had even migrated the server’s OS to a set of four USB sticks in an md RAID1. Crazy. I know. I wasn’t too happy about the speed. I decided to go out and buy a new reliable hard drive and a SATA expansion card to go with it.

The server’s primary Arch partition was using about 7GB of disk. A big chunk of that was a swap file, cached data and otherwise miscellaneous or unnecessary files. Overall the actual size of the OS, including the /home folder, was only about 2GB. This prompted me to look into a super-fast SSD drive, thinking perhaps a smaller one might not be so expensive. It turned out that the cheapest non-SSD drive I could find actually cost more than one of these relatively small SSDs. Yay for me. :)

Choice? Woah?!

In choosing the OS, I’d already decided it wouldn’t be Arch. Out of all the other popular distributions, I’m most familiar with Ubuntu and CentOS. Fedora was also a possibility – but I hadn’t seriously yet considered it for a server. Ubuntu won the round.

The next decision I had to make didn’t occur to me until Ubiquity (Ubuntu’s installation wizard) asked it of me: How to set up the partitions.

I was new to using SSDs in Linux – I’m well aware of the pitfalls of not using them correctly, mostly due to their risk of poor longevity if misused.

I didn’t want to use a dedicated swap partition. I plan on upgrading the server’s motherboard/CPU/memory not too far in the future. Based on that I decided I will put swap into a swap file on the existing md RAID. The swap won’t be particularly fast but its only purpose will be for that rare occasion when something’s gone wrong and the memory isn’t available.

This then left me to give the root path the full 60GB out of an Intel 330 SSD. I considered separating /home but it just seemed a little pointless, given how little was used in the past. I first set up the partition with LVM – something I’ve recently been doing whenever I set up a Linux box (really, there’s no excuse not to use LVM). When it got to the part where I would configure the filesystem, I clicked the drop-down and instinctively selected ext4. Then I noticed btrfs in the same list. Hang on!!

But a what?

Btrfs (“butter-eff-ess”, “better-eff-ess”, “bee-tree-eff-ess”, or whatever you fancy on the day) is a relatively new filesystem developed in order to bring Linux’ filesystem capabilities back on track with current filesystem tech. The existing King-of-the-Hill filesystem, “ext” (the current version called ext4) is pretty good – but it is limited, stuck in an old paradigm (think of a brand new F22 Raptor vs. an F4 Phantom with a half-jested attempt at an equivalency upgrade) and is unlikely to be able to compete for very long with newer Enterprise filesystems such as Oracle’s ZFS. Btrfs still has a long way to go and is still considered experimental (depending on who you ask and what features you need). Many consider it to be stable for basic use – but nobody is going to make any guarantees. And, of course, everyone is saying to make and test backups!


The most fundamental difference between ext and btrfs is that btrfs is a “CoW” or “Copy on Write” filesystem. This means that data is never actually deliberately overwritten by the filesystem’s internals. If you write a change to a file, btrfs will write your changes to a new location on physical media and will update the internal pointers to refer to the new location. Btrfs goes a step further in that those internal pointers (referred to as metadata) are also CoW. Older versions of ext would have simply overwritten the data. Ext4 would use a Journal to ensure that corruption won’t occur should the AC plug be yanked out at the most inopportune moment. The journal results in a similar number of steps required to update data. With an SSD, the underlying hardware operates a similar CoW process no matter what filesystem you’re using. This is because SSD drives cannot actually overwrite data – they have to copy the data (with your changes) to a new location and then erase the old block entirely. An optimisation in this area is that an SSD might not even erase the old block but rather simply make a note to erase the block at a later time when things aren’t so busy. The end result is that SSD drives fit very well with a CoW filesystem and don’t perform as well with non-CoW filesystems.

To make matters interesting, CoW in the filesystem easily goes hand in hand with a feature called deduplication. This allows two (or more) identical blocks of data to be stored using only a single copy, saving space. With CoW, if a deduplicated file is modified, the separate twin won’t be affected as the modified file’s data will have been written to a different physical block.

CoW in turn makes snapshotting relatively easy to implement. When a snapshot is made the system merely records the new snapshot as being a duplication of all data and metadata within the volume. With CoW, when changes are made, the snapshot’s data stays intact, and a consistent view of the filesystem’s status at the time the snapshot was made can be maintained.

A new friend

With the above in mind, especially as Ubuntu has made btrfs available as an install-time option, I figured it would be a good time to dive into btrfs and explore a little. :)

Part 2 coming soon …

Monday, October 29th, 2012 | Author:

It appears that, in infinite wisdom, Google have a security feature that can block an application from accessing or using your google account. I can see how this might be a problem for Google’s users, in particular their GTalk and Gmail users. In my case it was Pidgin having an issue with the Jabber service (which is technically part of GTalk). I found the solution after a little digging. I was surprised at how old the issue was and how long this feature has existed!

To unlock the account and get your application online, use Google’s Captcha page here.